Getting Things Done

A few months ago, I read this amazing book called, Getting Things Done (GTD). It is a book regarding an action management method to improve personal productivity and ensure that you can deliver on what you have committed on a daily basis. GTD rests on the principle that a person needs to move tasks out of the mind by recording them externally. That way, the mind is freed from the job of remembering everything that needs to be done, and can concentrate on actually performing those tasks (from Wikipedia) . This framework was created by David Allen. 

A bit of a history on how I stumbled into this. I learned about the 3-letter acronym GTD from another productivity guide called Inbox Zero (from www.43folders.com). Apparently, the principle behind Inbox Zero was derived from GTD. I then watched a Google webinar that David conducted and I got really interested. I bought the book and read it religiously for a few weeks. Now, I’m here still not GTDed.

When I finished the book, I realized that David’s philosophy made sense. Why do we keep maintaining a mental to-do list that we know is endless and ever changing? Sooner or later, you tend to forget something or relate a particular task differently. And you miss important items you need to do and when you need to have them completed.

I’ve decided to put a soapbox in my blog for GTD. I’ll probably put here things I discover that can help me be more productive, or detail my progress in applying GTD in life.

Leave a Reply

