I Love You Goodbye

I have finally watched an MMFF movie. Historically, I’ve watched a movie or two every year since 1998. Can you believe that? Anyway, for this year, it’s I Love You Goodbye. This is a love square involving Angelica Panganiban, Gabby Concepcion, Derek Ramsey, and Kim Chiu with certain twists.

Honestly, I hated the movie. And at movies like this will you enjoy the company of your friends where you just laugh at the scenes and just make snide comments. I apologize to the people around us. Making fun of a drama is the only way to salvage the experience. Gabby is just too old, and Angelica’s performance is just plain annoying with a bigger cup size. I felt that it lacked maturity – or maybe that was deliberate? Derek’s intense look seems to be taken out of the book of constipation, and Kim is just too thin that when she asked Derek “don’t you find me attractive?” we just laughed out loud. How sad is that?

I want to go back to the days where we have GOOD movies with no ulterior motives on profitability and commercialization (Gabby to Arlene MUHLACH: Ate, kamusta na ang ensaymada business mo?”). MMFF gave us before Himala, Kisapmata, Bulaklak ng City Jail, Imortal, and Burlesk Queen before! I was able to see and love movies in the Festival such as Jose Rizal (even if it’s 3 hours long), Bulaklak ng Maynila, Hubog and Dekada 70. Now, we are just seeing MMFF as a huge money-making scheme with no cinematic quality whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

