Percy Jackson & the Lightning Thief (movie)

It was already a week ago since I watched Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. A week before that, I’ve finished reading the 5 books of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and I found it very worthwhile and age-appropriate. However, the movie was entirely different. The plot was so different that made me exclaim “where’s Kronos?!” when the movie was almost done. They made the movie stand alone I am not sure how they can complete the franchise on this. The performances of some of the actors (especially the young ones) were very hollow. Special effects were cool, but everything was taken with a conservative point of view. The Percy Jackson universe is so broad, I feel that Columbus did not take advantage of that. Also, a big factor on being underwhelmed was the fact that I have read the book. I am not sure how I would take the movie if I did not read the book prior to the movie.

Leave a Reply

