Scott Peck Love And other Drugs

I’m full of shit, okay? No I’m… I’m *knowingly* full of shit. Because, uh… because uh, uh… I have… I have *never* cared about anybody or anything in my entire life. And the thing is, everybody just kind of accepted that. Like, “That’s just Jamie.” And then you!… Jesus. *You*. You. You didn’t see me that way. I have never known anyone who actually believed that I was enough. Until I met you. And then you made me believe it, too. So, uh… unfortunately… I need you. And you need me.

I finally got to watch Love and Other Drugs thanks to the Loveland library here. I borrowed it a few days ago, but since it was still a new movie, I had to return it tomorrow. I wanted to just chill at home today so it was the best time to watch it.

It struck me really hard again. Especially when Jamie chased after Maggie during  the last part, it totally made me tear up! My favorite quote is the one I’ve put in bold and it’s really inspiring and makes you hopeful. Who you are, and what you are should be enough for someone who loves you. People always want to put a facade of perfection, or socially-regarded notions of wealth, beauty and to some extent, courtesy. The concept of dating is one of the things that really baffles me and something that I cannot grasp.

Here we have 2 individuals who probably wants to see if there’s a match between them. They go out on a date and they actually get out of their comfort zone to bring out the best clothes, dine in the nice restaurants and even show a stronger sense of chivalry just to impress the other party. I’ll build on that root word —   impression. That’s all you do. You build an impression of who you are and what you are capable of. However, it is not what is normal. Sure, you are capable of dressing up nice, and eat some $50 meal in some fancy restaurant. You even open the door of your car for your date. You do that and you get hitched. Is it sustainable? Is it what’s normal to you? Do you go out of your way just to impress your partner continuously? If that’s your personality, kudos to you, but if not, all the dating is just a big facade; a lie.

Dating for me though is a means to get to know someone and establish if you can build something out of nothing. It’s a way to identify what are the  deal breakers, and see what you can actually compromise. Once you have established that, you can then assess if it’s fruitful to build the relationship, or not. Can I date a vegan? Of course, but I do not think I can be in a long-lasting relationship with one. I like my meat too much. Another situation is when it comes to religion. I’m apatheist, but I can be in a relationship with a Christian, for example, as long as he does not need to influence me with his religious beliefs. I’d probably accept some of his insights as long as it is acceptable in my moral framework. It’s just that for me.

Going back to the movie, that line struck me so much because that’s my ideological concept of a strong committed relationship. To be able to accept the limitations of one another and have a positive effect to each other as you nurture each other and grow in the relationship.  I love Scott Peck love.

Leave a Reply

