What Was and What Will

The 2011 look back…

When I started 2011, I was feeling a bit angry to the world. 2010 and the early part of 2011 was quite a shocker for me in terms of what I wanted to do in life. It jolted me to actually do something more drastic than sit around and wait for things to arrive on my lap. I thought then – I’ve been a hardworking guy and I deserve it. No. It’s not like that. If you want something, look for it and grab it by the balls and do not let go. You have to fight for what you want/deserve. No one will intervene for you. It is you self who is your biggest ally. Still, 2011 is a year of changes! I moved out of my home, the Philippines for the US for work. I said goodbye to my parents and my closest friends! I did not realize it was going to be tough because I’ve wanted this for so long, but when it was already my last week in Manila, I felt so emotional, I did not know who that person was. It was a surreal experience and something that surprised me even until this moment.

In the US, there more surprises in store. I was forced out of my comfort zone. I met new people and I was able to experience new things that I wouldn’t really expected. I started having more control on what to do in my life, and even started dating here. It’s like I was presented so many options, and it’s all up to me now to work out what I need to do. I’m happy to have these choices. Going back to my 2011 goals which I made during the dying days of 2010, I’d say that I accomplished the big ticket items of what I wanted to be done in 2011. When 2010 ended, I just wanted to accomplish the following things:

  1. a better gym plan.
  2. better relationships with old and new people in my life
  3. tighter financial controls – minimize eat outs and luho
  4. iron out my personal 2-year personal plan
  5. move out and be more independent

I put down some goals that I wanted to achieve and left out any career planning. I tried to work on #1 but did not succeed with this and 2012 will probably a better year to work on this (rationalizing). I enjoyed attending my Aero Step and Hi-Lo, but because of my move to the US, this had to stop. Due to #4 and #5, a lot of things were suddenly dropped like hot potatoes. So I can say that #1, #2 and #3 did not meet expectations, but I think being able to achieve #4 and #5 which was quite nerve wracking made things easier and faster. I am pretty happy with how 2011 went by actually.

Moving forward to 2012…

For 2012, I just want to go back and slice up small goals that I think is attainable yet challenging. I just want to focus on the following aspects: finances, career, health, personal and social.

Financially, I need to reduce my spending and earmark around 25% of my pay to go to savings. I need to be more wiser and save up. I will probably reduce Starbucks again as I’ve been enjoying Toffee Nut Lattes, Caramel Macchiatos, and Salted Caramel Mochas. I’ve been shopping a lot too! Gosh, living near a mall is really a pain (not!).

Career-wise, I am not seeing any big progressions and I don’t aim to do so. I’ll need to be prudent in what goes on and see where it goes. But, what I need to focus will be improving productivity. How can I improve what I am doing now. I feel that there is a big room of improvement and I’ll probably have to do some data analysis to come up with the gaps and how to address them. What to automate and what to standardize. These things I’ll need to write down and also include in my FPR goals.

As with health, I just want to be healthier without compromising my meat diet. I’ll probably put in some more greens, and really be serious about going to the gym. Hopefully, by the end of 2012, I had reduced my BMI (not that I am fat) and be leaner. I need good motivation on this!

Socially, I need to expand my social circle, seriously. I think this will be very, very challenging. I will probably have to join some social group where I share my interest so I can meet more people.

Finally, I have some personal things that I want to achieve like watching more movies, and enjoying some vacations this year. I also want to blog some more and be able to write down more my life experiences and thoughts regularly. I think I’ve skipped so many important milestones and I haven’t really been too transparent as well. There are tons of blog entries marked as private this year that it’s like I am living a double life. I don’t know really, but I’ll need to open myself up some more and lower down my defensive shields.

I don’t know if 2012 will be easy, but what I’ve learned this year with my move to America — you will be the one setting what you want to achieve and how to achieve it. So 2012, I’m ready for you! Be pleasant and loving!

Leave a Reply

