How I Met

20120911-105559.jpg

I finally attended my first meetup yesterday. I’ve joined this website (http://www.meetup.com) since last year when I moved here in Cincinnati. I thought that it was a good site to do something in a new city where I don’t know anything about. According to wikipedia, Meetup allows members to find and join groups unified by a common interest, such as politics, books, games, movies, health, pets, careers or hobbies.

Yesterday, I finally joined the Cincinnati Pick-Up Volleyball meetup in Madisonville Rec Center. I didn’t really know much about the place, or the event. I had very little expectation since I didn’t know much about it. To be honest, I actually liked it. I met new people, and more importantly, I played volleyball since 2009 I think. My body is still hurting due to the shock it endured with finally getting stretched. I didn’t play a good game to be honest, and I knew I can do way better. My reception was off. My service was atrocious. My spikes were just horrible. Gah. So, I really am motivated to train more for the sport especially that I now know I can regularly do this thing. I’m happy about that.

So, I’ll probably be back next week for another pick up game. I just need to figure out a workout routine that can improve my game. I guess a lot of plyometrics will come into play and hopefully, I gain the confidence to advance to to the more skilled pick up games. You never know!

Leave a Reply

