Day 2: How have you changed in the past 2 years?

2 years ago, it was 2011. During that time, I received news that I was going to the US for a new role and eventually moved by the end of July of 2011. I was surprised with the array of emotions that I had then. I never knew I had it in me. I think experiencing new things really changed me. I felt more independent of sorts because I had the freedom to do what I want whenever. But, with that freedom came new responsibilities that I wasn’t used to. I had to take care of bills, and do household chores that I never really did back home. I felt more of an adult. That seriously had a big impact.

Emotionally, I think I matured a bit as well. I’m still the same old jaded yet hopeful guy, but now, I accept myself better. I am not saying I’ve reached the point where I am very comfortable with who I am, but I have a better understanding of where I am and what I can possibly offer. I’ve been trying to venture out of my comfort zone and experience new things, but at the same time, still be authentic with who I am and how I see myself.

I’ve been a pragmatist with my 2 feet well grounded to reality. I refuse to live in a bubble. My half-empty philosophy intensified, and I’ve learned to accept that more. I now yearn to be pleasantly surprised with things that go around me. I try not to expect much so that I won’t be disappointed much. I think it’s growing up and seeing that the world has a lot of options, and tons of risks as well.

Leave a Reply

