A bit touristy in SF…

I finally found the strength to just go out and do some tourist-y stuff here in San Francisco. I think this is my fourth visit here, but all I have done in San Francisco are shopping and attend Pride. I have not really done any other things to discover the city. Well, that changed yesterday.

Since I don’t want to be burdened with my car, I just took the BART to Embarcadero. I already had an agenda in mind for the day — Fisherman’s Wharf and Alcatraz. It was an easy commute: BART to Embarcadero, and then ride the F cable car to Fisherman’s Wharf. I did not realize that it’s going to be a full ride, but it was not too bad. I went down to Pier 39 and walked a bit. When I reached Fisherman’s Wharf, I circled back and just bought a ticket for a 90-minute boat tour. It costed $36. I was not dressed for the ocassion because I was just wearing a t-shirt and jeans and I did not realize that I would be freezing to death due to the SF Bay breeze. It was not funny at all. It did not dampen the experience though because I loved hearing the history about the city, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz and SF-Oakland Bridge.

Pier 39 – first stop!

 

When I reached the Fisherman’s Wharf, I did not really know what to do so I just left. The smell of seafood was overpowering for me as well so I was not really a big fan.

 

The Golden Gate Bridge! It was a foggy afternoon… and chilly!

 

Alcatraz – Apparently, it’s really a rock and it has no own supply of water. They have to ship fresh water everyday.

 

The SF-Oakland Bay Bridge!

 

The view of San Francisco from the boat!

 

Setback of traveling alone — no friend to ask to take your photo. Maybe I should try to befriend a stranger?
Leave a Reply

