Feb/9

And just like that, another week has passed by. Next week, it is already S.A.D. (Singles Awareness Day) for me as always, but it is a long weekend because it is President’s Day on the 17th. The Filipino peeps will also be gathering for an overdue potluck. I will be making pansit (crossing fingers) and leche flan. Those are some things I am looking forward to.

For this week, the most striking experience I had is ice shoveling. I never shoveled snow since I moved here because the past 2 winters were relatively mild. Last Monday night, we had an ice storm and we got a dose of sleet and freezing rain. It’s very dangerous because the roads can be too slippery for your tires. I did not leave the house on Tuesday & Wednesday, and decided I needed to see some people on Thursday. My car was practically stuck in my parking slot because when they plowed the roads, the excess snow/ice went to my parking blocking my spot. Fun, fun. It was a weird feeling of being tired and being cold because I never associated the two together. If I’m in the gym, I warm up and grow tired. But, when you do these outdoor wintry activities, you do not warm up enough, but you just grow tired. It is something I need to consider when I get a house. It’s not gonna be fun.

In terms of work, my manager just talked to me if I can be freed up to do a project in Winnipeg, Canada. Ack. I’m not excited at all. It’s like moving from cold to colder. I need to talk to my account manager and discuss what’s in store for me in the near future because I want to be retained in the account where I’m at (no traveling/no timezone difference/same cold). But of course, if there’s nothing out there, I’ll have to suck it up and buy more winter clothes. Let’s see what happens to that next week because I need to do all the talks ASAP.

I’ve been trying out something lately. I’ve been trying to wake up around 6-7AM and do some yoga stretches found in YouTube. I want to really fall into a routine because winter has been really forcing me to just be lazy and stay in bed. It’s not good with productivity at all. And, I need some relaxing activity that can wake up my senses, force myself out of bed and actually improve my flexibility. Ergo, yoga! It’s just usually a 15-minute routine but so far so good. I even adjusted my volleyball schedule now. Usually, I play Mondays, Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays. But, Mondays have been too overcrowded lately. :-( 24+ people in one court is just terrible already. I can do 18, but 24+ is just insane. So, I decided to trade that to a meetup on Tuesdays at OTR. I will try it out on Tuesday for the first time. I now do yoga every Monday at LA Fitness. It’s a nice way to frame the week I guess. :-)

I feel like I’m grateful about many things but I just cannot really properly word them out. At this moment, I’m just grateful with having different types of tea in my house. I have Tazo Focus, Awake, Zen and Twinning Earl Grey. It’s good to be able to mix it up depending on my mood and time of day. Usually, I do Earl Grey, Focus or Awake during the mornings and Zen is my afternoon tea relaxer. If I end up in Starbucks, I go to Tazo China Green Tips. Weirdly, I don’t see that variant in my Kroger so I am OK to get that in Starbucks. Right now, I’m enjoying a cup of Awake. It’s very relaxing especially while looking at the snow falling down outside the winter. Peaceful Sunday mornings are awesome.

20140209-102703.jpg

Leave a Reply

