Weekly. 5/26.

There are so many thoughts in my head that It is pretty much overwhelming. I just want to stop and let everything just settle down because I think this is it. I think I’ve reached the point where I just want to say mga leche kayo, ito gagawin ko! It’s time to take ownership and just pull an Elsa. Let. It. Go. Of course it is easier said than done! So, the only way to do this is to actually do it MY WAY. It’s time to projectize this and take it from there. I just want to start this out, but I’ll write this in another post and maybe another blog.

Hand pain. I’ve been experiencing some pain in my right hand. When I rotate my wrist, it’s painful. I did not really sprain it from volleyball or any other activity. I just woke up one day, and it was painful. Not good at all. I had it checked last week and I got some meds, but I have further tests to check what’s going on. The initial evaluation is that it’s neuropathy, which is pretty much an inflamed nerve. The test I will take will test more of that. I tried putting pressure in my right hand and I still feel some pain so I think it’s prudent to go for this. I am scheduled this Wednesday, so hopefully, it’s nothing serious.

Chicago – one night only. Last Friday, I went to Chicago to renew my passport. My passport’s expiry date is actually January 2015, but you cannot use it for international travel if it’s within 6 months. I might have a business trip this coming July or August, so I really need to have my passport renewed. Honestly, it is such a pain that I have to drive all the way to Chicago just to renew my passport. As a Filipino passport holder, you have to go to the embassy that covers your area. Ohio is covered by the Chicago embassy. Even passport renewals require a personal appearance so I *really* need to go to Chicago. Leche. The thing is, if I get my passport early enough, I might need to head back to Chicago AGAIN in early July to apply for a Schengen visa to Germany. Ugh. Life of a Philippine passport holder.

To my glee, the process by itself was very smooth. The Philippine consulate office is located very strategically near the train station so I did not really suffer much. And, walking in Chicago is always lovely (probably not the same case during winter). I even registered as an overseas absentee voter! Yes, I can finally exercise my right to vote again in the upcoming 2016 elections! The last time I actually voted was in 2004, but according to my parents, someone has been voting on my behalf in all elections that I have skipped. That is why my file is still active even if I have not casted a vote in the last 3-4 elections. I can finally take back my vote and use my right.

The drive though was just long. Doing it alone made it really boring as well. There’s no one to talk to, so I had to entertain myself. I ended up in one piece but I was tired as hell. My friend Joel hosted my stay there so I did not spend in lodging. He lived in Lakeview East so I got to live how a local would live there. And, as usual, I am just in love with the city and the vibe. I like the laidback lifestyle, and how diverse Chicago is. It really makes me think if the winter is worth it. That’s part of the life project so I will comment further on future posts.

Everyday by David Levithan. I finished this book last Saturday and it was a very nice story. It’s a very unique premise as well of actually living without the concept of a tomorrow. I got curious about this book because of Kris Aquino who posted a quote in Instagram. It was a lovely quote and made me really interested to look into it. It was an easy read and the plot was pretty cool. I’m reading Will Grayson, Will Grayson by David Levithan and John Green next. I’m pretty excited to read a new one and I think I am on target in my reading goals this year.

X-Men. OMFG, X-Men Days of Future Past is just awesome! I love it and it is definitely a big improvement from the last few X-Men. The story was very cohesive and made sense in the whole X-Men story arc. It also rebooted the whole franchise! It’s as if the X-Men: The Last Stand never happened. I wish I can also forget about that.

Gratitude. I have not done this for quite some time, but for this week, I am grateful for having good friends. They share their lives with me, and they also exert an effort in being a friend. They are not just me cheerleaders, but my life coaches as well who give me their points of view about life and living. They don’t tell me what I want to hear, but they tell me what I need to hear. They want me to be better and have a better life. They share moments and stories that enrich my life experience as well. I am grateful about all of this. 

One Reply to “Weekly. 5/26.”

  1. I have many Filipino colleagues in my office, and we/they always joke that the Indian/Filipino passports are the worst. A visa for everything and everywhere. 😀

Leave a Reply

