Loosen Up

I stumbled in a website called http://www.succeedsocially.com/ where it gave some valuable insights in being able to be more successful in your social life. There is a bounty of tips, and pieces of advice that can really help in dealing with people. It’s something I really need to be honest. I consider myself an introvert, and would consciously clam up during situations where I am required to socialize. I cannot pinpoint exactly where the root of my issues are because I think I also act in a more outgoing manner with a different set of people. I think it’s more on comfort and self-confidence in asserting myself.

In my line of work, it is really important to have some social skills. I have read some tidbits in the net about Shy/Introvert Project Managers and why it’s very difficult for them to be successful. I partly disagree to this because managing a project is not all about social connections, but the experience and perspective on how manages should and could run. At the same time, I do understand that communication and being able to build relationships with your stakeholders can also be a factor in making or breaking a project. I do not want to come off as insincere or fake (or am I just being tough on myself?) by just doing it for the sake of doing it. I do want to be genuine in building connections and networks and for me, it takes time. It is a work in progress and definitely one of my major developmental areas not only in career, but in my personal life.

One Reply to “Loosen Up”

  1. Interesting. I will look it up. What I found out is that people are actually willing to engage in conversation provided you approach them and have some common topic to ask.
    I attended a trade conference recently and forced myself to talk to people. Surely, I didn’t make friends for life but had a few interesting conversations at least.

Leave a Reply

