Hits close to home 

I got news yesterday that really gutted me. I learned that one of my childhood friends has Stage 4 AIDS. Not HIV, but full blown AIDS that’s advanced already. He’s the first person I know personally that has gotten this disease. 

My other friends and I chatted about it if we could have done more for him. We have advised him to be safe all the time but he probably didn’t care enough to listen to us. It’s frustrating because it is preventable. As long as you do not compromise yourself and you use your brain, you should be able to steer away from it even if you’re sexually active.

The news shook me because I know that death is more inevitable for him. He’s in my thoughts and will learn from this sad teachable moment. 

One Reply to “Hits close to home ”

Leave a Reply

