Long overdue

I know I have been very terrible in maintaining this blog for the entire month of July. I have zero excuse as always but I was just lazy and busy. Since I am in a flight to Manila, I think I can manage this.

So, after 4 years, I am back in Singapore for a business trip. The travel to SG was very easy and I was dreading a terrible fall out. I think the tip was to start adjusting my sleep time zone even on the plane. I was lucky that my DTW – NAR flight started at 2 so I dozed off during that part and tried to kept awake during the “SG day time”.

The first week was very hectic / fun. I reconnected with some good ole friends who are based in Singapore. It’s nice to be able to meet them again because some of those friendships were really good then, and it’s a good reminder that great friendships always feel like you did not lose time and you just pick up where you left off. Of course, the food has always been awesome in Singapore. I was able to check a lot of things in my list — Jollibee, Din Tai Fung, Marche, Delifrance Eclairs, Paul Eclairs, Dan Ryan’s, Wee Nam Kee, and Starbucks Dark Mocha Frap. Of course, it’s good to try new things as well.

I also celebrated my birthday in Singapore. It was pretty lowkey actually. Dinner with Majel and Dan in Dan Ryan’s (how apt) was awesome and pretty much how I want to welcome my 32nd year of life – the year I’m no longer in the calendar. There are actually so many things to be grateful for and things that I dread. I’m happy for getting a new job, being generally healthy (except my knee!), and being able to do things I want to do. I just wish I have more clarity or direction in my life and that’s something I really dread. It’s another year for me and I still haven’t figured out a lot of things especially where I want to be in the next 3-5-10 years. I sometimes feel that I got stuck somewhere and I couldn’t get out of it. I just need to shake it off or find someone to talk to about it.

Being in Singapore wasn’t really all fun. Work has been stressful and very different from how things are in the US. I’ve been sleeping 4-5 hours on a daily basis here and it’s really starting to bog me down. The humidity is getting to me and I’ve been breaking out like crazy as well. I think it’s because of the humidity (or maybe the hotel tooth paste or water). I get frustrated as well in waiting for buses, trains, and cabs/ubers just to get around. I got used to the efficiency of being able to drive easily in Cincinnati. My brain feels like there’s a cloud with the fatigue and lack of focus. I wish my trip in the Philippines can snap me out of this funk because I’m just not looking forward to things at this moment. I wish I can be more excited to see my parents and friends, but I’m just really feeling tired and just want to go home to Cincinnati and sleep for a day.

Let’s see how this weekend goes, but this is the key update at the moment. I have the Manila weekend and 4 more days of Singapore before I fly home to Cincinnati.

One Reply to “Long overdue”

  1. Belated Happy Birthday! Yes, Singapore does get to you. It really wears you down I think. Hopefully your trip to the motherland will be good.
    Oh, and yes, that belated blog update is inexcusable. 😛

Leave a Reply

