Greek Yogurt

A few years back, I hated yogurt. It’s one of those products that you’ll never see me eat. It’s not that I’m allergic to it, but I was never a fan of tart or sour food, especially in creamy form. It tasted and smelled weird for me. I remember one time when I went out for an “eyeball” (how early 2000s!) in Manila, we went to a yogurt place. I swallowed my pride and went for it. I still did not like and that meet up was never repeated.

Fast forward to now and it’s considered a staple in my diet. I get eat Greek yogurt almost every day. It has very good protein content (20 grams in a serving), and it’s ridiculously good. My favorite right now is Trader Joe’s whole milk vanilla bean Greek yogurt. I can literally devour an entire tub of that goodness! Super good. I also eat the 0% plain ones and to make it more satisfying, I add a serving of fruit (strawberry, banana, pineapple and the like).

It’s so strange how my palate has changed. I can attribute that to motivation. If you want something, you’ll eventually bring down your walls and take risks. That’s what I have done. It all started during my Paleo journey a few years back where I explored healthier options. I took out sugar, and complex carbs and just relied on simple and fresh food items. Then now with the Lean Gains + IIFYM (if it fits your macros) approach, I try to explore high protein options! The good news is that it’s working. Weight is down to 147 (from 154) and my body fat is at 17.3% (from 23%)! It does not end and there’s room for further growth. I know I will need to push further. I need to find more options and see to what levels can I reach. It’s something I am excited about and probably one of the few things going on in my life.

Leave a Reply

